Bylaws, Policies and Operational Guidelines

The British Columbia School Trustees Association was instituted on February 16, 1905, in Vancouver. Eight Boards of Education were present at the inaugural meeting.

In 1956, the association was incorporated by an act of the provincial legislature, “The British Columbia School Trustees Association Act.” (SBC 1956, c.52)

The act was amended in 1974 (1974 SBC c.102 s.2), 1994 (Public Education Labour Relations Act, 1994 SBC. c.21 s. 13) and 2007 (School (Student Achievement Enabling) Amendment Act, 2007 SBC c.29 s.44, Sched).

A review of the association’s bylaws is currently underway.

Additional information and documentation: