The Jean Ciriani Scholarship for Communications recognizes a graduating student who has excelled at communication studies and who has expressed an interest in using their communications skills in the support of public policy and education. This year, the family of Jean Ciriani and the BCSTA are pleased to announce the winner of the $1,500 bursary:

Flora Zhi
Sir Winston Churchill Secondary
SD39 (Vancouver)

Her work experience coordinator, Wanda Yee, writes:

“It is my pleasure to recommend Flora Zhi for the Jean Ciriani Scholarship for Communications. As her Work Experience teacher at Sir Winston Churchill Secondary, I have become familiar with Flora’s educational and professional goals. Flora’s extensive volunteer work highlights her supreme communication skills, not only showing her strong work ethic and desire to positively contribute to her society but also allowing her to effectively organize and promote change in her school community and after graduation in June.”

Congratulations, Flora!

About Jean Ciriani

Jean Ciriani was the Director of Communications at the BCSTA until she passed away in 2009. In memory of her contributions to education and the execution of public policy, her family and friends raised the funds necessary to establish this scholarship in her name.

Jean had a lifelong interest in the communication of public policy and, especially, public policy related to education. Throughout her life, she was determined that her career should allow her to use her gift for communication to further the functioning of our public institutions. As a person who belonged to a family of educators, it was quite natural that her ultimate goal was to be part of an institution that played a significant role in guiding the policies of our education system.

This scholarship reflects Jean’s lifelong interest in good governance and the support that communications can serve to support it.

1 Comments on “Jean Ciriani Scholarship for Communications – Winner Announced”

  1. Pingback: BCSTA 2020 Scholarships - British Columbia School Trustees Association