[Richmond B.C. – April 28, 2018] The BCSTA held their 114th Annual General Meeting at the Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel in Richmond, B.C. during which the membership voted for the 2018-19 board of directors.

The following candidates were successfully elected to the board.

  • President: Gordon Swan – SD58 (Nicola-Similkameen)
  • Vice-President: Stephanie – Higginson SD68 (Nanaimo-Ladysmith)
  • Directors:
    • Valerie Adrian – SD74 (Gold Trail)
    • Tim Bennett – SD57 (Prince George)
    • Carolyn Broady – SD45 (West Vancouver)
    • Mike Murray – SD42 (Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows)
    • Donna Sargent – SD38 (Richmond)

“I would like to express my gratitude towards BCSTA’s membership for placing their trust in our new board. I also wish to thank our exiting board members for their contributions, as well as express my appreciation to everyone who ran for positions on the board,” said returning President Gordon Swan. “We look forward to building off our existing efforts as we enter our strategic planning phase post-AGM. The new additions to the board will bring a fresh perspective as we continue our work of improving the learning outcomes of our province’s students by advocating on behalf of all 60 of British Columbia’s boards of education and the communities they represent.”

Teresa Rezansoff, who served as the Association’s president from 2013 to 2017, did not run for a position on the board as her term as past-president concluded at the AGM, thereby creating an additional director position. Past directors Gloria Jackson and Alan Chell also did not run, with Chell now focusing on his role as chair of the BC Public School Employers’ Association board.

BCSTA would like to thank all those who submitted their names for election and ran for positions on the board.