

British Columbia School Trustees Association

July 20, 2023

## The Honourable Katrine Conroy Minister of Finance PO Box 9048, Stn Prov Govt

Victoria, B.C. V8W 9E2 fin.minister@gov.bc.ca

Dear Minister Conroy,

## Subject: Inflationary Costs

At the British Columbia School Trustees Association's 2023 annual general meeting, our members, representing all 60 boards of education in B.C., passed the following resolution:

"That BCSTA urge the Ministry of Finance to cover inflationary cost increases when developing future education budgets taking into account unique geographical factors."

Inflation continues to place unplanned financial pressure on school districts. For example, fuel, facility repairs, maintenance and general goods escalate in cost, particularly for rural and remote districts. These pressures pull money from the classroom, specifically away from students, to facilitate operational district expenses. BCSTA's vice-president, Tracey Loffler, recently presented to the Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services, and this issue was one of our three primary topics for the second year in a row. From our membership's perspective, this situation is a growing concern.

In short, we ask that the Ministry of Finance factor further inflationary cost increases into future budgets. I would also like to invite you to meet with me to further discuss our membership's concerns.



British Columbia School Trustees Association

I look forward to your response so we may take additional steps in developing a collaborative strategy to address the unsustainable financial situation that many boards of education across B.C. are finding themselves in.

Sincerely,

roly &

**Carolyn Broady** *President* British Columbia School Trustees Association

Motion: A202327

Enclosure: Original motion rationale

CC: Christina Zacharuk, Deputy Minister of Education and Child Care Chris Brown, Assistnant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education and Child Care BCSTA member boards of education Suzanne Hoffman, CEO, BCSTA BCSTA Board of Directors